Los Angeles Child Molestation Attorneys
Accused of Child Molestation in California?
Child Molestation, Lewd or Lascivious Acts With A Minor
California Penal Code 288 states that it is illegal to engage in any lewd or lascivious sexual acts with a minor. This is also referred to as child molestation and is prosecuted as a felony. To be convicted of child molestation, the prosecutor must be able to prove that you:
- willfully lewdly touched a child’s body part or willfully caused the child to touch your body or the body of someone else;
- committed the act with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying your lust, passions, or sexual desires, or the lust, passions, or sexual desires of the child;
- the child was under the age of 14 at the time of the act.
Legal Penalties for a Child Molestation Conviction
If you are found guilty of child molestation, you face up to eight years in prison for each count and mandatory sex offender registration. The charges and penalties can be greatly enhanced if the abuse was continuous in nature and/or involved acts such as oral copulation, penetration with a foreign object or sodomy.
Legal Defenses Against Child Molestation Charges
Some defenses that sex crime defense attorney Chad Lewin has used to successfully defend clients accused of child molestation, include:
- There was no touching
- The touching was accidental
- The touching was not meant to sexually arouse or gratify yourself
Contact our Los Angeles Sex Crime Defense Lawyers Today
Without the most aggressive, experienced, winning California defense lawyer fighting for you, your conviction could result in the end of your life as you know it. The LAST thing you need is a child molestation conviction on your record, as this will permanently tarnish your reputation and impact your entire future. Often times, we can stop police investigations before you EVER get charged with a crime. (If you have NOT been formally charged, but you are being accused and/or investigated, read more about how we get involved with pre-file investigations.)
Remember, do NOT speak to police, investigators, or detectives about your case. Anything you tell them CAN be used against you in a court of law. Prosecutors WILL NOT BE LENIENT with you because you’re “being nice.” It doesn’t work that way. If you’ve been charged with child molestation in California, time is of the essence! Every minute you wait matters, so call Los Angeles sex offense attorney Chad Lewin at Lewin Law Group immediately for a FREE, CONFIDENTIAL consultation at (800) 458-1488. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to help you or your loved ones.